Research Databases
Featured Databases
Creativebug
Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.
Weiss Financial Ratings
Tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances.
New York Times All Access
Free access to everything the New York Times has to offer including News, Games, Cooking, Wirecutter and The Athletic!
WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux
Databases by Subject
Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.
This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Content has been provided by MOTOR Information Systems.
Provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles.
A database for patrons seeking reference and instructional information about small engine machinery maintenance and repair.
Find in-depth, original profiles of current biographies with full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Combines and cross-references author names and listings for titles of works into one source. Provides access to listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner’s Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers.
Brings together Gale’s premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Provides access to reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction. A readers’ advisory resource.
Provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale’s Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
Provides detailed company and industry profiles as well as company histories.
Ebook collection covering manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations.
Includes Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Small Business, and the Encyclopedia of Management.
Business and consumer database covering over 51 million businesses as well as U.S. Standard White Pages. Perfect for job seekers, sales leads, and finding key business people and contact information. (Formerly Reference USA)
Tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances.
Access to adult learning services including GED prep, 24/7 writing lab, live tutoring, career resources, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more.
Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques.
Connect with an expert to learn more about eligible VA benefits and community resources.
Resources to help you prepare tests, change careers, or improve basic career skills.
Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors.
How to Use on Mobile:
Udemy Business is available on mobile for both iOS and Android. Download the iOS app or Android app wherever you download your apps.
Once the app is downloaded you will be prompted to input your organization’s account name. Input “gale” without the quotes.
Please note that the Udemy Business app is distinct, and Udemy Business accounts cannot be accessed via the Udemy.com mobile app.
The Udemy Business Android mobile app is not supported on Chromebooks or Chrome OS devices.
ABCmouse is 100% educational and 100% fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities for ages 2-8+ (books, puzzles, educational games, science videos, art activities, songs) that encompass reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music—including more than 2,000 STEM and 1,200 Spanish-language learning activities.
This resource is being offered on a trial basis and will be available until November 27, 2024.
Adventure Academy (ages 8-13) is an educational, multiplayer online game for elementary and middle school students. Library card holders can create one account with multiple child profiles per household. To access this service, you will need a PML Library card and its corresponding password.
Assists patrons in every step of the college admissions process, making higher education more accessible and attainable for all.
Homework Help, Language Learning, eLearning resources, Writing Lab, and more.
A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School.
Provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world’s people.
Makes research easy for students.
Includes The College Blue Book, Peterson’s Four-Year Colleges, Peterson’s Two-Year Colleges, and Peterson’s Private Secondary Schools.
Age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more.
Engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.
A trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.
A database of Long Island community resources. Find local health and human services agencies and programs to meet your needs.
Your source for “how-to” information on a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.
The premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements.
Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database — a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more.
An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.
A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School.
Makes research easy for students.
Includes a number of different encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.For more information about genealogy research at the Library, see the genealogy page.
<a
Includes billions of records to help you find your family’s story.
Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Comprehensive collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for genealogical research, from 1704 to today.
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
Contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.
Newspapers dating from the 1700s to the 2000s.
(In-Library Use Only)
Access to more than 1.4 billion records spanning twenty-two countries covering the United States, the British Isles, continental Europe, and beyond.<a
(In-Library Use Only)
Includes billions of records to help you find your family’s story.
(In-Library Use Only)
The complete British and Irish family history experience, to connect you with your ancestors and bring your story to life.
Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Comprehensive collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for genealogical research, from 1704 to today.
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
Contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.
Newspapers dating from the 1700s to the 2000s.
Primary Source Archive Package
Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books.Sanborn Digital Maps
Fire insurance maps from 1867-1970 — New York State only.
(In-Library Use Only)
Up-to-date, complete information about grantmakers and grants for your organization.
(In-Library Use Only)
Lets you know what government and foundation grants are currently available through user-friendly grant search and grant summaries.
Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals.
Provides access to thousands of medical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Content sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Covers time period from the early 18th to the early 21st century.
Thousands of reliable resources — including primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps and videos — to help you complete your research.
Primary Source Archive Package
Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books.Historic Newspapers
Historic newspapers available to Suffolk County residents through Live-brary.com
Create language courses that match your personal interests, occupation, learning goals, skill level, age, schedule and motivation. 160 languages available.
Learn a brand new language, further their ESL learning as non-native English speakers, or brush up on a language for business or vacation travel. For additional information on how to use this resource, visit our Language Learning page.
An online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems.
Law Topic Guide
Guide to personal law provided by your local public library. Topics include bankruptcy, citizenship, courts, Federal & New York laws, divorce/family law, foreclosure, lawyer/legal aid directories, legal forms, legal research, local laws/building codes, and resources in Spanish.
Thousands of legal forms available. Official, state-specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering a range of legal subjects and issues.
Create professional-quality documents in three simple steps: 1. Search for the document specific to your situation; 2. Answer the questions in the web input form; 3. Review and print your document.
eCode
For the Village of Patchogue eCode, click here. For the Town of Brookhaven eCode, click here. For the Suffolk County eCode, click here. For the New York State eCode, click here. For the Federal eCode, click here
Comprehensive database of abstracts from the fields of Library and Information Science.
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Integrates the full text of publications from across disciplines and includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections.
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including the Long Island Advance.
Access to full articles in the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), one of the nation’s leading black newspapers of the 20th century and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions.
Provides access to more than 600 leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Consumer Reports Magazine via Livebrary
Articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Issues and articles from 1985 on.
Library access to online resources at Consumer Reports.org. Consumer Reports is an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace.
Digital newsstand offering content across your favorite devices. Access to newspapers and magazines combined with an easy-to-use interface.
Organized by subject for targeted results based on your interests. Topics include Careers, Computers and Technology, Education, Health, History, News and Current Events, Personal Finance, and Self-Improvement.
Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
A growing digital library that includes multiples types and formats of content. Find peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 2007. The Advance is the oldest operating newspaper in Brookhaven Town, and the longest continually operated business in the Village of Patchogue.
Magazines, A to Z
An A to Z list of journals and magazines you can access online with your library card. Includes browse by title and browse by subject options, and a list of additional resources to aid your search.
Up-to-the-moment access to nytimes.com with no limit on the number of articles viewed. Read today’s news stories as they happen. This resource requires you to create a free individual account. You may use your existing nytimes.com account, if you have one. Find more info here.
Comprehensive digital coverage dating back to 1980, including The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine.
Access to articles published by The New York Times during the stated time period. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics.
Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 1985. Newsday is a daily New York newspaper with a focus on Nassau and Suffolk counties.
Access to articles published by Newsday during the stated time period.
Digital newsstand featuring 7000+ of the world’s most popular newspapers & magazines!
U.S. Newsstream
Search recent U.S. news content as well as archives stretching back to the 1980s. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes, U.S. Hispanic Newsstream, U.S. Major Dailies, and U.S. regional newstreams.
Explore National history through local news, events, and people with USA Today Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Indexed collection covering the period from 1984 to the present. The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.
Access to articles published by The Wall Street Journal during the stated time period.
PML Music Indexes
Patchogue-Medford Library has one of the best and finest collections of printed music in Suffolk County. Browse and search the online indexes of our popular and classical sheet music, encompassing a range of genres and types of music in many formats.Personal Finance Research Guide
Collection of financial literacy resources provided by your local public library. Includes media and reading lists, financial calculators, budgeting worksheets, credit basics, and more. Organizing topics include Renters & Homeowners, College Students & New Adulthood, Basics of Investing, Investing after 60, and Major Purchases – Buying a Car.Financial Literacy – Saving Money is Fun and Important (Children and Parents)
For families with children in 1st-5th grade. Resources on the History of Money, Money-Saving Tricks, Shopping with Your Child, and children’s books on financial literacy.
Tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances.
Research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Science Online
Offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines that facilitate STEM research and learning. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help researchers find a starting point.
Designed to meet every student researcher’s needs. Contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
Online resource covering timely social issues. Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
For native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Two levels—Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school—offer unique content that is of interest to every student.
Provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.Arts & Crafts
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Creativebug | Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. |
Auto and Small Engine Repair
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Auto Repair Source Use at Home Use in Library |
This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Content has been provided by MOTOR Information Systems. | |
|
Chilton Library Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles. | |
|
Small Engine Repair Reference Center Use at Home Use in Library |
A database for patrons seeking reference and instructional information about small engine machinery maintenance and repair. |
Biography
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Biography Reference Bank Use at Home Use in Library |
Find in-depth, original profiles of current biographies with full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals. |
Books and Literature
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Gale Literary Index | Combines and cross-references author names and listings for titles of works into one source. Provides access to listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. | |
|
Gale Literature | Brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. | |
|
Gale Literature Criticism | Takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. | |
|
Novelist Plus Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides access to reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction. A readers' advisory resource. | |
|
Something About the Author | Provides comprehensive access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. |
Business
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
Business Insights: Essentials Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides detailed company and industry profiles as well as company histories. | |
 |
Gale Directory Library Use at Home Use in Library |
Ebook collection covering manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations. | |
 |
Gale eBooks Use at Home Use in Library |
Includes Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Small Business, and the Encyclopedia of Management. | |
|
Data Axle Reference Solutions Use at Home Use in Library |
Business and consumer database covering over 51 million businesses as well as U.S. Standard White Pages. Perfect for job seekers, sales leads, and finding key business people and contact information. (Formerly Reference USA) | |
|
Weiss Financial Ratings |
Tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances. |
Careers and Jobs
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Brainfuse Adult Learning Center | Access to adult learning services including GED prep, 24/7 writing lab, live tutoring, career resources, U.S. citizenship prep, MS Office Essential Skills Series, and more. | |
|
Brainfuse JobNow | Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. | |
|
Brainfuse VetNow | Connect with an expert to learn more about eligible VA benefits and community resources. | |
|
Peterson’s Test Prep Use at Home Use in Library |
Resources to help you prepare tests, change careers, or improve basic career skills. | |
|
Udemy | Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors. Instructions for phone/tablet |
Children's and Teen Resources
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
ABC Mouse Use at Home Use in Library |
ABCmouse is 100% educational and 100% fun, with more than 10,000 learning activities for ages 2-8+ (books, puzzles, educational games, science videos, art activities, songs) that encompass reading, math, science, social studies, art, and music—including more than 2,000 STEM and 1,200 Spanish-language learning activities. | |
|
Adventure Academy | This resource is being offered on a trial basis and will be available until November 27, 2024. Adventure Academy (ages 8-13) is an educational, multiplayer online game for elementary and middle school students. Library card holders can create one account with multiple child profiles per household. To access this service, you will need a PML Library card and its corresponding password. | |
|
Brainfuse CollegeNow | Assists patrons in every step of the college admissions process, making higher education more accessible and attainable for all. | |
|
Brainfuse HelpNow | Homework Help, Language Learning, eLearning resources, Writing Lab, and more. | |
|
Britannica School | A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. | |
 |
CultureGrams Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. | |
|
Explora Use at Home Use in Library |
Makes research easy for students. | |
|
Gale eBooks Use at Home Use in Library |
Includes The College Blue Book, Peterson's Four-Year Colleges, Peterson's Two-Year Colleges, and Peterson's Private Secondary Schools. | |
 |
Gale in Context: Elementary Use at Home Use in Library |
Age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more. | |
 |
Gale in Context: Middle School Use at Home Use in Library |
Engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. | |
| National Geographic Kids | Includes the complete run of the magazine from 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos, and images. High-quality informational texts are available for primary, upper elementary, and middle school English Language Arts, social studies, and science classrooms. | ||
 |
Novelist Plus: K-8 Use at Home Use in Library |
A trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. | |
 |
Worldbook Encyclopedia Online | Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more. |
Community Resources
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
 |
2-1-1 Long Island | A database of Long Island community resources. Find local health and human services agencies and programs to meet your needs. |
DIY & Home Improvement
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Home Improvement Reference Center Use at Home Use in Library |
Your source for “how-to” information on a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects. |
Educators' and Teachers' Resources
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
 |
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database Use at Home Use in Library |
The premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. |
 |
Educator’s Reference Complete Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database -- a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. |
 |
ERIC Use at Home Use in Library |
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. |
 |
Teacher Reference Center Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more. |
Encyclopedias
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
Britannica Academic | An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. | |
|
Britannica School | A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. | |
|
Explora Use at Home Use in Library |
Makes research easy for students. | |
|
Gale eBooks Use at Home Use in Library |
Includes a number of different encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. | |
|
Worldbook Encyclopedia Online | Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more. |
Genealogy
For more information about genealogy research at the Library, see the genealogy page.
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
AmericanAncestors.org (In-Library Use Only) Use in Library |
Access to more than 1.4 billion records spanning twenty-two countries covering the United States, the British Isles, continental Europe, and beyond. | |
 |
Ancestry Library Edition (In-Library Use Only) Use in Library |
Includes billions of records to help you find your family's story. | |
|
Find My Past (In-Library Use Only) Use in Library |
The complete British and Irish family history experience, to connect you with your ancestors and bring your story to life. | |
 |
Fold3 Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. | |
|
HeritageHub | Comprehensive collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for genealogical research, from 1704 to today. | |
 |
Heritage Quest Use at Home Use in Library |
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more. | |
 |
MyHeritage Library Edition Use at Home Use in Library |
Contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources. | |
 |
Newspapers.com Use at Home Use in Library |
Newspapers dating from the 1700s to the 2000s. | |
| Primary Source Archive Package Use at Home Use in Library |
Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books. | ||
| Sanborn Digital Maps Use at Home Use in Library |
Fire insurance maps from 1867-1970 -- New York State only. |
Grants
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
Foundation Directory Online Professional (In-Library Use Only) Use in Library |
Up-to-date, complete information about grantmakers and grants for your organization. | |
|
GrantWatch (In-Library Use Only) Use in Library |
Lets you know what government and foundation grants are currently available through user-friendly grant search and grant summaries. |
Health and Medicine
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
 |
Gale Health and Medicine Use at Home Use in Library |
Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. |
 |
MEDLINE Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides access to thousands of medical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more. |
History
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Black Life in America | The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Content sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Covers time period from the early 18th to the early 21st century. |
 |
History Reference Center Use at Home Use in Library |
Thousands of reliable resources — including primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps and videos — to help you complete your research. |
| Primary Source Archive Package Use at Home Use in Library |
Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books. | |
| Historic Newspapers | Historic newspapers available to Suffolk County residents through Live-brary.com |
Language Learning
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
Pronunciator | Create language courses that match your personal interests, occupation, learning goals, skill level, age, schedule and motivation. 160 languages available. | |
 |
Rosetta Stone | Learn a brand new language, further ESL learning, or brush up on a language for business or vacation travel. For additional information on how to use this resource, visit our Language Learning page. |
Law
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
LawHelpNY.org | An online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems. | |
| Law Topic Guide Use at Home Use in Library |
Guide to personal law provided by your local public library. Topics include bankruptcy, citizenship, courts, Federal & New York laws, divorce/family law, foreclosure, lawyer/legal aid directories, legal forms, legal research, local laws/building codes, and resources in Spanish. | ||
|
Gale Legal Forms Use at Home Use in Library |
Thousands of legal forms available. Official, state-specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering a range of legal subjects and issues. | |
|
NuWav Legal Documents | Create professional-quality documents in three simple steps: 1. Search for the document specific to your situation; 2. Answer the questions in the web input form; 3. Review and print your document. | |
| eCodes | For the Village of Patchogue eCode, click here. For the Town of Brookhaven eCode, click here. For the Suffolk County eCode, click here. For the New York State eCode, click here. For the Federal eCode, click here. |
Library and Information Science
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Use at Home Use in Library |
Comprehensive database of abstracts from the fields of Library and Information Science. |
Magazines & Newspapers
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Academic OneFile Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. | |
|
Academic OneFile Select Use at Home Use in Library |
Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Integrates the full text of publications from across disciplines and includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. | |
|
America's News |
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including the Long Island Advance. | |
 |
Amsterdam News (New York), 1922-1993 Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to full articles in the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), one of the nation’s leading black newspapers of the 20th century and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions. | |
|
Computer Science Use at Home Use in Library |
Provides access to more than 600 leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. | |
| Consumer Reports Magazine via Livebrary Use at Home Use in Library |
Articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Issues and articles from 1985 on. | ||
|
Consumer Reports Website Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to online resources at Consumer Reports.org. Consumer Reports is an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace. | |
|
Flipster Use at Home Use in Library |
Digital newsstand offering content across your favorite devices. Access to newspapers and magazines combined with an easy-to-use interface. | |
|
General OneFile Use at Home Use in Library |
Broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests. Topics include Careers, Computers and Technology, Education, Health, History, News and Current Events, Personal Finance, and Self-Improvement. | |
|
OneFile News Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. | |
|
JSTOR Use at Home Use in Library |
A growing digital library that includes multiples types and formats of content. Find peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives. | |
|
Long Island Advance | Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 2007. The Advance is the oldest operating newspaper in Brookhaven Town, and the longest continually operated business in the Village of Patchogue. | |
| Magazines, A to Z | An A to Z list of journals and magazines you can access online with your library card. Includes browse by title and browse by subject options, and a list of additional resources to aid your search. | ||
 |
New York Times, All Access Use at Home Use in Library |
Up-to-the-moment access to nytimes.com with no limit on the number of articles viewed. Read today's news stories as they happen. This resource requires you to create a free individual account. You may use your existing nytimes.com account, if you have one. Find more info here. | |
 |
New York Times, 1980-current Use at Home Use in Library |
Comprehensive digital coverage dating back to 1980, including The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine. | |
|
New York Times Historical, 1851-2017 Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to articles published by The New York Times during the stated time period. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics. | |
|
Newsday, 1985-current Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 1985. Newsday is a daily New York newspaper with a focus on Nassau and Suffolk counties. | |
|
Newsday Historical, 1940-1992 Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to articles published by Newsday during the stated time period. | |
|
PressReader Use at Home Use in Library |
Digital newsstand featuring 7000+ of the world's most popular newspapers & magazines! | |
| U.S. Newsstream Use at Home Use in Library |
Search recent U.S. news content as well as archives stretching back to the 1980s. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes, U.S. Hispanic Newsstream, U.S. Major Dailies, and U.S. regional newstreams. | ||
 |
USA Today |
Explore National history through local news, events, and people with USA Today Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. | |
|
The Wall Street Journal, 1984-current Use at Home Use in Library |
Indexed collection covering the period from 1984 to the present. The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City. | |
|
The Wall Street Journal Historical, 1889-2003 Use at Home Use in Library |
Access to articles published by The Wall Street Journal during the stated time period. |
Music
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
| PML Music Indexes | Patchogue-Medford Library has one of the best and finest collections of printed music in Suffolk County. Browse and search the online indexes of our popular and classical sheet music, encompassing a range of genres and types of music in many formats. |
Personal Finance
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Personal Finance Topic Guide | Collection of financial literacy resources provided by your local public library. Includes media and reading lists, financial calculators, budgeting worksheets, credit basics, and more. Organizing topics include Renters & Homeowners, College Students & New Adulthood, Basics of Investing, Investing after 60, and Major Purchases - Buying a Car. | |
| Financial Literacy - Saving Money is Fun and Important (Children and Parents) | For families with children in 1st-5th grade. Resources on the History of Money, Money-Saving Tricks, Shopping with Your Child, and children's books on financial literacy. | |
|
Weiss Financial Ratings |
Tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances. |
Science
| Logo | Database | Description | Tutorial |
|---|---|---|---|
|
GreenFile Use at Home Use in Library |
Research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. | |
| Science Online Use at Home Use in Library |
Offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines that facilitate STEM research and learning. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help researchers find a starting point. | ||
|
Science Reference Center Use at Home Use in Library |
Designed to meet every student researcher's needs. Contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images. |
Social Science
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Opposing Viewpoints Use at Home Use in Library |
Online resource covering timely social issues. Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. |
Spanish
| Logo | Database | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Britannica Escolar | For native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Two levels—Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school—offer unique content that is of interest to every student. |
|
Informe Academico | Provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. |